Here’s Every Member of Congress Boycotting Trump’s SOTU Address

Editor's Note: The following article contains news and opinion. discusses politics and issues of national importance. This site corrects errors. To submit a correction, please use the form here. To read more about the staff and editorial standards, please view About Us and Community Standards.
rx online

In their typical foot-stomping, kindergarten kid style, a growing list of Democrats announced with a flourish that they are boycotting President Donald Trump’s State Of The Union speech. And here is the full list of those mewling children who are taking their ball and going home.

So far, at least, it looks like about 13 Democrats (many from Illinois, the most bankrupt and failed state in the union) have decided to boycott the SOTU speech.

Apparently deciding that they no longer want to represent their constituents in Congress, three members of the Illinois Democrat delegation have announced that they are staying home from the address tonight.

According to the Daily Caller the Land of Lincoln has a growing list of shirkers:

Illinois Democratic Rep. Jan Schakowsky:
“I refuse to normalize President Donald Trump and his loathsome language and actions,” Schakowsky said in a statement. “With every day that passes, a new tweet, breaking news story, or leaked quote sheds new light on President Trump’s twisted and prejudiced mind. I refuse to accept that as the new normal.”

“From calling for an illegal ban of Muslims during the first week of his presidency (and on Holocaust Remembrance Day) and refusing to condemn Nazis and White Supremacists in Charlottesville, to referring to Haiti and African nations as ‘sh*tholes’, President Trump has completely disrespected millions of patriotic Americans and the office of the presidency,” she continued.

Illinois Democratic Rep. Bobby Rush:
“This has been the most chaotic, divisive, and incompetent first year of any administration and I will not sit and watch as Trump pretends that he’s off to a successful start. He’s not. Trump does not respect the office, our long standing institutions, traditions, and many of our citizens, who he has repeatedly insulted,” Rush said. “We are watching the presidency erode before our eyes and I, for one, refuse to participate in pomp and circumstance that does nothing but normalize his egregious and hateful behavior.”

“This is a presidency that has been built on racism, stupidity, and lies, which has already wasted enough of America’s time and I will not waste any more of mine,” he continued.

Illinois Democratic Rep. Danny Davis:
“I cannot in good conscience stand silently by and watch generations of struggle for equal rights, for civil, human and voting rights, for the rights of women, for social and economic justice be undone from the highest office in the land,” Davis said in a statement.

The address will take place on the floor of the U.S. House of Representatives on Tuesday night.

Matching Illinois, California also has three Democrat reps. trading their duty for newspaper headlines:

California Democratic Rep. Barbara Lee:
Lee’s press secretary, Tasion Kwamilele told KQED News that she would not attend the address. The congresswoman has yet to release a statement as to why she would be protesting.

California Democratic Rep. Maxine Waters:
“Why would I take my time to go and sit and listen to a liar?” Waters said on MSNBC. “Someone who lies in the face of facts, someone who can change their tune day in and day out. What does he have to say that I would be interested in?,” Waters continued. “I don’t trust him, I don’t appreciate him and I wouldn’t waste my time … listening to what he has to say.”

“He does not deserve my attention,” she added.

California Democratic Rep. Juan Vargas:
“I will not be attending the State of the Union. I don’t want to pretend in anyway that I support this president. I don’t want to be two faced. I’d like to, if he started acting presidential. I’d be happy to go again, but I’m not going to do that until he starts acting presidential, respecting women, respecting people of color and immigrants,” Vargas said in an interview with KPBS News.

Joining those two monumentally failing, left-wing states are reps. from New York, New Jersey, Florida, Washington State, and Oregon.

The list is completed with New York’s Rep. Gregory Meeks, New Jersey Rep. Albio Sires, Florida Rep. Frederica Wilson, Washington’s Rep. Pramila Jayapal, and Oregon Rep. Earl Blumenauer.

If you would like to Tweet to these shirkers find them here:

Jan Schakowsky, IL:

Bobby Rush, IL:

Danny Davis, IL:

Barbara Lee, CA:

Maxine Waters, CA:

Juan Vargas, CA:

Gregory Meeks, NY:

Albio Sires, NJ:

Frederica Wilson, FL:

Pramila Jayapal, WA:

Earl Blumenauer, OR:

[Note: This post was written by Warner Todd Huston]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here